Wider Europe

Eligible Wider Europe countries are: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Russia and Ukraine.
The next Wider Europe Fellowship Programme will run in November 2020.
Wider Europe 2019 Fellows with Baroness Smith at Downing Street
Central Asia 2019 Fellows at Lancaster House

Central Asia

Eligible Central Asia countries are: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.
The next Central Asia Fellowship Programme will run in March 2021.


Fellows spend one week in Scotland and three weeks based in London. They discover first hand how UK institutions function and what challenges are faced by a mature democracy. The Fellowship Programmes offers both a broad picture and an individual focus. They are structured around the following 3 pillars:

Core Programme

Workshops, talks, discussions and debates on the UK’s experience of good governance, social justice and rule of law with leading UK experts.

Action Plans

Fellows come to the Programme with their own Action Plan – a piece of work or a project related to their field of interest which would be enhanced by UK expertise. It must be enacted on their return home and be of lasting benefit to their communities.

Leadership skills

The Programme also provides leadership skills development including debate and communications training with the opportunity to contribute to a Fellows’ public debate.